Deadballers: Ducky and High Pockets Present…

Passionately undeveloped opinions on the state of baseball, the shifting landscape of stats and analysis, and the opiate power of El Pato tomato sauce

Cyber Monday News

It’s Cyber Monday, which means some cool things are on sale. But more than likely it’s stuff that you already have or could get at a hardware store for $4. Case in point: this level on Amazon. It really looks like a steal for $7.96, but today only there’s a coupon for an additional $2.50 off. That’s $5.46! Winner!

A few key features:

  • True Blue Vial, superior accuracy, durability, visibility, made in USA

It’s blue. So cool. Superior accuracy? It’s a level, you line up bubbles. Made in the USA makes me really want it though.

  • Heavy-duty extruded aluminum frame

Heavy-duty, so I can totally go to town on this level and it won’t break. That’s American quality right there.

  • Strong-holding magnetic edge

Well at least it’s strong holding. Weak-holding would kinda defeat the purpose.

  • Advanced concentric molding guarantees perfectly formed vials

That sounds cool, so it must be.

  • Vials read plumb, level and 45 degrees

The same as every level ever made.

Let’s go to the reviews!

From Michelle,
4 out of 5 stars, titled “Works fine”
“Not much to say. I have no complaints. It works fine. Serves my needs. It is small, but that’s no issue for me.”

Feel the enthusiasm!

From cody181,
5 out of 5 stars, titled “great level”
“I bought this item because I really like the blue color water levels and because it is magnetic and looks nice.”

Cody knows what he wants and he got it. Of course, he searched Amazon for a level, so he might be a shut in and wants all the levels, but that’s ok. I’m not here to judge (yes I am).

From MortemCaine,
4 out of 5 stars, titled “Stronger than it looks”
“While the description says it’s aluminum, it’s obvious that it’s more plastic than anything, but apparently that doesn’t matter. I’ve dropped this thing from the top of scissor lifts (I’ll tell you why shortly) countless time, as had my co-worker who has the same level, and both are still fully intact, fully operational.

Why 4 stars? The magnet. While in my field (sheet metal) I would really like it to have magnets on both side I can see how some people wouldn’t, however, the magnet that they did put on it could have been a little more magnetically attractive. It’s like the magnet rolls you get at arts and craft stores for making crappy fridge magnets. Hence the reason the level keeps falling off the duct those times when you’re leveling the bottom over the side of the lift. And to make things worse (for me, don’t know about other trades that don’t work with metal as much) it’s just strong enough to grab the little steel shaving, making it even harder for the already weak magnet to grab the metal (a different co-worker has one that’ll fly outta your hand before you even get to the metal)”

Wow, that was way more than I was expecting. You’ve really made me think about my level needs, MortemCaine, and for that I thank you.

 

From Adre5484,
5 out of 5 stars, titled “GREAT!!!!”
“GREAT PRODUCT!!! WORKS WELL FOR ALMOST ANY JOB EASY TO SITS ON SURFACES WELL AND STANDS WELL. THEY SHOULD MAKE A BIGGER VERSION OF THIS LEVEL.”

Have I got some exciting news for you, Adre5484: http://www.amazon.com/Empire-e81-12-12-Inch-Magnetic-Level/dp/B0007A2A0Q/ref=pd_cp_hi_1

God, I love this country.

In baseball news, Evan Longoria got paid again today (6 year extension, 100 million Washingtons), so he could buy 18,315,018 levels (before taxes and shipping). Well done, Evan.

Leave a comment